The Trust is supported by Trustees and Advisory Committee members who are experts in their field:

Dr Suzanne Cohen

Chair of Trustees

E. Suzanne Cohen, MA, D.Phil is an Executive Director of Bioscience in the department of Respiratory and Immunology in AstraZeneca, Cambridge, UK. She leads a drug discovery research team focusing on pathways central to asthma, allergic and inflammatory diseases and serves as a member of AstraZeneca’s Respiratory and Immunology early-stage project governance and leadership team. Suzanne is an inventor on multiple patents and has published many scientific articles. In addition, she is well known in the IL-33 field through her novel discovery of IL-33 oxidation and its biological implications.  Suzanne obtained her undergraduate degree at the University of Cambridge, UK, has a D.Phil. in immunology from the University of Oxford and developed her career at Cambridge Antibody Technology, which later became part of Medimmune and then AstraZeneca.

Professor Doreen Cantrell CBE

Chair of Advisory Committee

Professor Doreen Cantrell CBE FRS FRSE FMedSci is a Cellular Immunologist at the School of Life Sciences, University of Dundee. She researches the development and activation T lymphocytes, which are critical to the understanding of the immune response. Professor Cantrell was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in the 2014 New Year Honours for services to life sciences. She was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2011 for her work on immunology and elected a Fellow of The Royal Society of Edinburgh in 2005.

Sir Professor Philip Cohen

Founder and Trustee

Sir Philip Cohen FRS FRSE FAA FF Med Sci is a British researcher, academic and Royal Medal winner based at the Medical Research Council Protein Phosphorylation and Ubiquitylation Unit, School of Life Sciences at the University of Dundee. From 1990-1999 he was the UK’s third most cited scientist and from 1992-2003 the world’s second most cited scientist in the field of biology and biochemistry. His research achievements have been recognised by the award of a number of international awards including the Prix van Gysel of the Belgian Royal Academies of Medicine (1992), The Swiss Louis Jeantet Prize (1997), The Pfizer Innovation Award for Europe (1999), The BristolMyersSquibb Distinguished Achievement Award in Metabolic Research (2002), The Rolf Luft Prize in Endocrinology and Metabolism from the Karolinska Institute Sweden (2006), Election as a Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Sciences  (2008) and the Albert Einstein World Award of Science from the World Cultural Council (2014). 

Professor Roland Wolf OBE


Professor Wolf OBE FRSE F Med Sci has published 533 papers in peer-reviewed scientific journals. He has been a member of numerous national and international committees and advisory panels in academia, government and industry. Awarded an OBE in the 2010 New Year Honours List, Professor Wolf is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Academy of Medical Sciences, the Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures & Commerce and the British Toxicology Society. Professor Wolf is the recipient of the Gerhard Zbinden Award for contributions to the area of drug and chemical safety, the ISSX European Scientific Achievement Award (2005), the ISSX International Scientific Achievement Award (2019), the Scottish Enterprise Award for Leading Individual Contribution to Life Sciences in Scotland and the John Barnes award from the British Society of Toxicology.

Professor Dario Alessi

Advisory Committee Member

Dario Alessi FRS FRSE is the Director of the Medical Research Council Protein Phosphorylation and Ubiquitylation Unit (MRC PPU) and Professor of Signal Transduction, at the School of Life Sciences, University of Dundee. Dario Alessi has received many awards for his scientific discoveries,  including the Colworth Medal (1999), the Eppendorf Young European Investigator Award (2000), the Philip Leverhulme Prize (2002), the EMBO Gold Medal (2005) and the Francis Crick Prize Lecture of the Royal Society (2006). He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh in 2002, a Member of the European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO) in 2005, a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2008 and Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences (FMedSci) in 2012.

Dr Chris Sheasby

Trustee and Treasurer

Chris Sheasby PhD FCA BFP is an experienced charity finance consultant who has previously held strategic financial leadership roles in the charity sector and also investment management and corporate finance roles in practice and industry. Chris spent six years at Deloitte where he qualified as a Chartered Accountant and worked across several disciplines, including audit, tax and transaction services, before focusing on M&A work. After leaving Deloitte, he joined KCP, a private equity company, where he originated, completed and managed a number of investments.  More recently, Chris was FD at the Children’s Investment Fund Foundation (UK), one of the UK’s largest endowment funds, CFO at Ark, a leading School Trust and COO of Permian Global, an ethical investment firm.  Three years ago, Chris established Blue Jay Advisory Limited to provide financial consultancy services to start-up charitable trusts and grant-making foundations.

Dr Chris Sheasby operates the Trust on a day-to-day basis pro bono on behalf of the Trustees and is the main point of contact for The Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator (OSCR). For further details on the Trust, including the Trust’s policies and how to donate, please email